Why are customers getting recreated after merging them in QuickBooks?

If you've merged customers in QuickBooks but are seeing them be recreated, check this article for information on why.

QuickBooks allows two customers to be merged into a single customer record by changing the name of one customer record to match another. The customer record that was renamed is then deleted and all transactions are re-linked to the other customer record.

Acctivate supports this process, but there is a situation where the merged (i.e., deleted) customer may re-appear after the next synchronization.

Acctivate is notified that one of the customer records was deleted. However, QuickBooks does not indicate the new customer name. So, Acctivate looks for any invoices or payments related to the old customer to determine which customer to merge to.

This approach works well if the deleted customer has transactions in Acctivate. If there are no transactions in Acctivate, the customer records cannot be merged will be re-created in QuickBooks. If you experience this, we recommend that you rename the customer record with transactions to the other customer name in QuickBooks. Synchronize with QuickBooks and the customers should be merged properly in both Acctivate and QuickBooks.

NOTE: It’s a good idea to make sure the customer information, such as address, phone, email, contact and payment information MATCH for both customer records prior to merging.